B(ack)LOG: Singapore

DSC_0014
You may have thought I’ve abandoned my blog but I’m back to revive it! And there are so many backlogged posts-to-be that it’s simply embarrassing. Work had me incredibly busy that the only relationship I was having was with my bed, and even it felt neglected. I had the honor to work on President Obama’s visit to Jakarta, which is the most logistically complex thing I’ll probably ever have to tackle in my life. A VVIP visit is no joke. But it was worth the hours and work.

Anyhow, let’s not belabor the point and get right to it! We were in Singapore ages ago but let’s pretend it was just last weekend. đŸ˜‰ To land in Singapore from Jakarta is like being beamed to a parallel universe where everything has order, efficiency, and scrumptious food. You see those arrows up there on how to get off and on a subway car? People actually heed them. This is a truly civilized city and I must admit it’s deeply impressive. But too much directive signage makes me uncomfortable and the anarchist that slumbers deep inside me starts to slightly jostle with impudence. That being said, I still had an amazing time. We packed a lot in one weekend so Singapore will probably have a few post dedicated to it.

Let’s start with the museum. DSC_0019

The National Museum of Singapore was surprising well-designed. Not only was the building a perfect marriage of colonial and modern architecture, the exhibits were thoughtful and used multimedia in ways I haven’t seen enough in the States. DSC_0022

If I recall correctly, Japanese sisters.

DSC_0025

It was acceptable for Chinese men to take two wives.

DSC_0026

This photo exhibit had family portraits of the first immigrants of Singapore (Hainan Chinese, Armenians, Indians) and short films that were shown behind them. I often find the short descriptions next to art not to be explicative enough. The films were able to go in depth about the history of Armenians in Singapore as well as the polygamy of early Chinese settlers. It was fantastically informative!

We ventured into the food exhibit and didn’t realize we were entering paradise. The only thing missing were actual hawker stalls.

DSC_0038

DSC_0035

DSC_0034

DSC_0065

DSC_0089

Traditional cake and cookie molds:

DSC_0091

DSC_0094

DSC_0096

DSC_0097

Entrance to the Singapore History Gallery.

DSC_0130

DSC_0129

The Singapore Stone, 10th-14th century.

DSC_0132

Completely in love with these William Farquhar prints.

DSC_0147

DSC_0138

DSC_0137

So much more to come! Back in black, baby!

Leave a Reply

