Ben Thanh Market

I never posted this because I’m horribly inconsistent when it comes to the blogging. I keep saying I’ll get better at it but when it comes down to it part of me is lazy and the other thinks it’s self-indulgent. So let’s get actively indulgent!

Oh, the massive markets of Asia. When traveling, many of us go in thinking we need to get to the soul of a culture, whether it be through food, art, music, or simply meeting the people. You can often find all of that at a central market where you carefully eke through narrow aisles perusing stall after stall of everything.

DSC_0373

Ben Thanh Market is in the heart of Saigon where many flock for its cheap goods whether it be lacquerware or nailpolish pens or a garment stall where they’ll make you 2 for 1 suits featured in the latest GQ magazine in two days flat for under $200. Those cats in the garment stalls are fast and dapper.

DSC_0374

It’s always a good idea to see what the locals snack on. And I’m always curious to find out how the local dried squid is.

DSC_0377

I saw this scene often on the streets. Women prodding each other’s faces to push out any facial impurities. Everyone in Vietnam is an aesthetician.

DSC_0378

Fun felt ball imaginings!

DSC_0379

Loads of lacquer and coconut shells.

DSC_0380

DSC_0381

DSC_0382

I picked up plenty of tea and blue mountain coffee from this Vietnamese/Korean stall. We noticed a lot of Korean investment in Vietnam and a conspicuous lack of any U.S. products. This is the first country we visited with no Starbucks. And no need for one; Vietnamese coffee is roasted and caramelized to perfection.

DSC_0384

Because I bought so much tea and coffee from these people, they threw in a few free filters. Vietnamese coffee can only be made this way. Don’t you dare put it through a regular joe coffeemaker. I’ll have to post the beautiful ceramic filters and cups I bought as well. I’ve been scheming to start a new series of posts called: LOOT. Let’s see how that fares.

DSC_0385

DSC_0388

DSC_0389

DSC_0390

DSC_0392

DSC_0393

DSC_0394

DSC_0396

DSC_0397

DSC_0402

I love crazy food art. I think it started with my brother creating a stand of trees out of broccoli in a landscape of snow made of mashed potatoes so I’d eat my veggies. This is a bit more refined but will I ever have the patience to learn how to do this? I’m always impressed with the Japanese women who make adorable menageries of sushi animals for their kids’ bento boxes. I want to say I will be that mom but I foresee lumps of leftovers in tupperware in my children’s futures.

Ok, I’m getting tangential. See you next time. Hopefully sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

